Review: My Lady Bug

myladybugcover

Dear Readers,

Today I am very excited to be reviewing ‘My Lady Bug’ – Ireland’s first period subscription box! I have seen similar products advertised on-line for America and have always wished we had something similar. What exactly is it? It’s a slim box that pops through your letter box once a month filled with pads/tampons, chocolate and tea. What more could a girl really ask for?

Myladybug1

I myself have struggled horrendously with my period in the past. Although it is better than it used to be, it’s still an exhausting time of the month and something as simple as the My Lady Bug subscription really helps to ease this pain. There are some months where on my first day I don’t even leave my bed because the cramps are just too painful. I have had to take time out of school/college and often came to near-fainting points in school! While I know some girls who don’t get any pain at all (I envy you so much), for some of us it is a total nightmare.

everythinghurts

At MyLadyBug.ie, we don’t use euphemism for periods, we don’t whisper about ‘your aunt flo visiting’ or ask if you ‘have the painters in.” I love the philosophy of the My Lady Bug company so much! Not only are they making our period less painful, but they are eradicating the shame that can often accompany your period.

feministrants

A woman’s period is a natural and necessary part of her bodies system. It shouldn’t be viewed as embarrassing. Tampons are taxed at 5% in the UK as they are classed as a “luxury” however, they are not optional. We don’t choose to get our periods each month – no, we don’t enjoy bleeding for week, eating everything in sight, and crying whenever we drop a spoon. The least the government could do is not tax us for this. You know what aren’t taxed? Condoms. Condoms are optional. You choose to have sex. While the majority of the adult population are choosing to have sex, it remains a choice I would consider a “luxury”. So, why are we being taxed because we get our periods monthly? Just something to think about if you weren’t already aware of this.

isthiswhatyoulike

So, despite all of this heartache, My Lady Bug have brought us this wonderful product. And guess what, it only costs €9.99 per month! Considering your pads/tampons can cost anywhere between €4-6 this is a great deal; it’s being delivered straight to your door with two chocolate (full-sized) treats and four sachets of Pukka Herbs tea – Pukka ‘Love’ tea, a mix of organic rose, chamomile and lavender – and, Pukka ‘Three Mint’ tea. The tea actually comes in a super cute satin black draw-string bag which is really handy because a) I carry tea bags with me to use in college and b) this bag could also act as a tiny purse for your pads/tampons.

Myladybug2

If all of that isn’t convincing enough, My Lady Bug have been kind enough to give me a special discount for you lovely readers to get 15% off your first order! To redeem this discount simply enter “KBLOG” at the checkout. Click here to head directly over to My Lady Bug to put together your first order.

This is one less thing I now have to stress about! The packages are dispatched on the 19th-21st of each month and I have been told that these could soon be more catered to each specific cycle. For now, why wait to make your first order? Never worry about running to the shop to get emergency supplies again! All you have to do is curl up in bed with a hot water bottle and fluffy socks.

sabatoge

Love,
Kerry x

3 thoughts on “Review: My Lady Bug

      1. Thanks for clarifying, I wasn’t sure exactly what the UK figure was. Yeah, it’s not only shocking that such essential items are taxed as “luxuries” but also that it differs so widely in places where it applies.

Leave a comment